Experiencing Great Architecture and Creative Built Environments

Contemporary Arts Center (2003)

Zaha Hadid Architect

44 East 6th Street, Cincinnati, OH

Aerial View and Directions

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last visited March 19 2012

I have visited the CAC many times while in Cincinnati visiting friends. I cannot believe it has been open almost 10 years. It seems at though I never get great photos for some reason. There are the odd large spherical streetlights seemingly in the way of all exterior shots, not to mention the traffic and trucks stopped on the street. I have posted these from my recent trip hoping they give some impression of the building and space inside.

Zaha’s first building built in the US I think has held up pretty well. It almost seems a little timid now, but that could be that I am so used to it. (I recently visited the now under construction Broad Museum of Art on the Michigan State University campus in East Lansing by Zaha. That building looks like it will be a bold jarring presence on campus, the same feeling I remember of the CAC when I first saw it. I will post some progress photos soon) The CAC really fits into the Cincinnati streetscape well.

Inside the museum offers a variety of gallery experiences. Even if you have just a few minutes, you can experience the first floor for free and get a feel for Zaha’s complex angular composition with the floor turning up the wall on the north side.

I stop in every time I am in Cincy, and it still is an exciting experience. I cannot wait to see the completed museum in East Lansing, and experience Zaha’s more mature/developed style in comparison.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati (2012) | Traverse360 Architecture

  2. Pingback: Lindner Athletics Center, University of Cincinnati (2006) | Traverse360 Architecture

Leave a Reply

